Left to right: Professor Nick Kaye (Dean of the College of Humanities, University of Exeter), Alan Bernstein (Head of Studies, LFS), Mike Leigh (Chairman, LFS), David Allen (Registrar and Deputy Chief Executive, University of Exeter), and Ben Gibson (Director, LFS).

The London Film School

The London Film School (LFS) is the oldest-established international school of film technique in the world. Since 1956 LFS has trained thousands of directors, cinematographers, editors and other film professionals now working across the globe. Alumni include many great filmmakers and very successful technicians, covering all kinds of cinema - names like Mike Leigh, Michael Mann, Tak Fujimoto, Roger Pratt, Ueli Steiger, Iain Smith, Danny Huston, Franc Roddam, Anne Hui, Duncan Jones and Bill Douglas. LFS is one of only three ‘Skillset Film Academies’, accredited by the UK film industry as centres of excellence.

Working together

The University of Exeter and the London Film School have entered into a five-year agreement, which will enable postgraduate and doctoral film students to hone their filmmaking skills alongside their academic studies.

The agreement was signed at the University of Exeter on Monday 9 January 2012 by University of Exeter Registrar and Deputy Chief Executive David Allen and Mike Leigh, Chairman of the London Film School (LFS) and multi-award-winning director of films including Secrets and Lies, Vera Drake and, most recently, Another Year. They were joined by Professor Nick Kaye, former Dean of the College of Humanities, Ben Gibson, former Director of the LFS, and Alan Bernstein, Head of Studies at the LFS.

The alliance has enabled the institutions to launch a number of initiatives, including the new MA International Film Business. This programme offers students the chance to develop a unique set of skills related to the business of the film industry on both practical and theoretical fronts. They will have access to the professional expertise, experience and facilities at the LFS as well as to the academic excellence of researchers, research culture, and academic resources at the University of Exeter.

For me, being at the London Film School in the sixties was a very special experience, and the infectious spirit of freedom and creativity continues today.

Collaboration and individuality have always been encouraged, and the school continues to stay abreast of new technology, whilst exciting new connections are being made.

Our constructive hands-on approach is there to be developed, nurtured and celebrated. Ambitious filmmakers everywhere: come and take part!
Mike Leigh, LFS Chairman and 1963 graduate
Director Another Year, Happy Go Lucky, Vera Drake

LFS Patrons

Tony Elliott, Roger Graef, Christopher Hird, John Hurt CBE, Hanif Kureishi, Charlie Parsons, Franc Roddam, Anthony Smith CBE, Iain Smith OBE, Tilda Swinton, Jeremy Thomas, Alan Yentob.

LFS Development Committee

Honorary Chairs

Danny Boyle, Jim Broadbent, Sir Michael Caine, Ken Loach, Michael Mann, Sir Paul McCartney, Sam Mendes.


David Aukin (Chairman), Don Boyd, Dan Chambers, Simon Chinn, Will Clarke, Tony Elliott, Stephen Garrett, Marc Mourre, Franc Roddam, Lisa Marie Russo, Iain Smith OBE, Colin Vaines, Amanda Walsh, Roger Wingate.

Knowing how a process works liberates the imagination. Progress in filmmaking is inconceivable to me without a formal education in cinema – for me it was two years at LFS.
Michael Mann, 1967 graduate
Director Last of the Mohicans, Heat, The Insider,